Nassau County, New York

Nassau County
Hempstead House, part of Sands Point Preserve
Hempstead House, part of Sands Point Preserve
Flag of Nassau County
Official seal of Nassau County
Map of New York highlighting Nassau County
Location within the U.S. state of New York
Map of the United States highlighting New York
New York's location within the U.S.
Coordinates: 40°44′50″N 73°38′17″W / 40.7472°N 73.6381°W / 40.7472; -73.6381
Country United States
State New York
Named forHouse of Nassau
Largest villageHempstead
 • ExecutiveLaura Curran (D)
 • Total453 sq mi (1,170 km2)
 • Land285 sq mi (740 km2)
 • Water169 sq mi (440 km2)  37%
 • Estimate 
 • Density4,766.1/sq mi (1,840.2/km2)
Time zoneUTC−5 (Eastern)
 • Summer (DST)UTC−4 (EDT)
Area code516
Congressional districts2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th
Population is 2018 Census estimate.
Interactive map of Nassau County, New York

Nassau County (/ˈnæsɔː, ˈnæs/) is a county in the U.S. state of New York. At the 2010 U.S. census, Nassau County's population was 1,339,532, estimated to have increased to 1,356,924 in 2019.[1] The county seat is Mineola and the largest town is Hempstead.[2][3][4]

Nassau County is situated on western Long Island, bordering New York City's borough of Queens to the west, and Suffolk County to the east. It is the most densely populated and second-most populous county in New York State outside of New York City, with which it maintains extensive rail and highway connectivity, and is considered one of the central counties within the New York metropolitan area. Nassau County contains two cities, three towns, 64 incorporated villages, and more than 60 unincorporated hamlets. Nassau County has a designated police department,[5] fire commission,[6] and elected executive and legislative bodies.[7]

A 2012 Forbes article based on the American Community Survey reported Nassau County as the most expensive county and one of the highest income counties in the United States, and the most affluent in the state of New York, with four of the nation's top ten towns by median income located in the county.[8] Nassau County high school students often feature prominently as winners of the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair and similar STEM-based academic awards.[9] Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory in the Town of Oyster Bay and the Old Westbury campus of New York Institute of Technology are both globally prominent life sciences research institutions in Nassau County.

  1. ^ "State & County QuickFacts Nassau County, New York". United States Census Bureau. Retrieved April 21, 2019.
  2. ^ Nassau County Atlas, 6th Large Scale Edition, Hagstrom Map Company, Inc., 1999
  3. ^ "Find a County". National Association of Counties. Retrieved June 7, 2011.
  4. ^ Toy, Vivian S. (March 30, 2003). "For Sale: Nassau's County Seat". The New York Times. The county's properties all have mailing addresses in Mineola, the official county seat, but are actually within Garden City's boundaries.
  5. ^ "NCPD: Nassau County Police Department". Nassau County. Archived from the original on August 19, 2014. Retrieved August 16, 2014.
  6. ^ "Nassau County Fire Commission". Nassau County. Retrieved February 24, 2013.
  7. ^ "Governmental Structure: Nassau County". Nassau County. Retrieved January 8, 2010.
  8. ^ "America's Most Affluent Neighborhoods". February 13, 2012. Retrieved October 25, 2012.
  9. ^ "Student Science a Resource of Society for Science & the Public". Society for Science & the Public. Retrieved July 18, 2017.