Court of Appeal (England and Wales)

The Court of Appeal
Royal courts of justice.jpg
Established1 November 1875[1]
LocationRoyal Courts of Justice, Strand, City of Westminster, London, UK
Authorized by
Appeals to
Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales
CurrentlyThe Lord Burnett of Maldon
Since2 October 2017
Master of the Rolls
CurrentlySir Geoffrey Vos
Since11 January 2021
Preview warning: Page using Template:Infobox court with unknown parameter "country"
Preview warning: Page using Template:Infobox court with unknown parameter "appeals"

The Court of Appeal (formally "His Majesty's Court of Appeal in England",[2] commonly cited as "CA", "EWCA" or "CoA") is the highest court within the Senior Courts of England and Wales, and second in the legal system of England and Wales only to the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom.[3] The Court of Appeal was created in 1875,[4] and today comprises 39 Lord Justices of Appeal and Lady Justices of Appeal.[4]

The court has two divisions, Criminal and Civil, led by the Lord Chief Justice and the Master of the Rolls and Records of the Chancery of England respectively. Criminal appeals are heard in the Criminal Division, and civil appeals in the Civil Division. The Criminal Division hears appeals from the Crown Court, while the Civil Division hears appeals from the County Court, High Court of Justice and Family Court. Permission to appeal is normally required from either the lower court or the Court of Appeal itself; and with permission, further appeal may lie to the Supreme Court.

The Court of Appeal deals only with appeals from other courts or tribunals. The Court of Appeal consists of two divisions: the Civil Division hears appeals from the High Court and the County Court and certain superior tribunals, while the Criminal Division may only hear appeals from the Crown Court connected with a trial on indictment (i.e., for a serious offence). Its decisions are binding on all courts, including itself, apart from the Supreme Court.

  1. ^ Wilson, Arthur (1875). The Supreme Court of Judicature Acts, 1873 and 1875. London: Stevens and Sons. Retrieved 16 May 2019 – via
  2. ^ Interpretation Act 1978, Schedule 1
  3. ^ Courts and Tribunals Judiciary website
  4. ^ a b The history of the Court of Appeal, Judiciary website