Footloose (2011 film)

Theatrical release poster
Directed byCraig Brewer
Screenplay by
Story byDean Pitchford
Based onCharacters
by Dean Pitchford
Produced by
CinematographyAmy Vincent
Edited byBilly Fox
Music by
Distributed byParamount Pictures[1]
Release date
  • October 6, 2011 (2011-10-06) (Australia)
  • October 14, 2011 (2011-10-14) (United States)
Running time
113 minutes[2]
CountryUnited States[1]
Budget$24 million[3]
Box office$63.5 million[3]

Footloose is a 2011 American musical film co-written and directed by Craig Brewer. It is a remake of the 1984 film of the same name and stars Kenny Wormald, Julianne Hough, Miles Teller, Andie MacDowell and Dennis Quaid. The film follows a young man who moves from Boston to a small southern town and protests the town's ban against dancing. Filming took place from September to November 2010 in Georgia. It was released in Australia and New Zealand on October 6, 2011, and in North America on October 14, 2011. It grossed $15.5 million in its opening weekend and $63 million worldwide from a $24 million budget.

  1. ^ a b c d e f g h i j "Footloose (2011)". AFI Catalog of Feature Films. Retrieved May 31, 2018.
  2. ^ "Footloose (12A)". British Board of Film Classification. 2011-09-20. Retrieved 2011-09-21.
  3. ^ a b Cite error: The named reference BOM was invoked but never defined (see the help page).